rewrite

Everybody has their own way to rewrite. I belong to a very good group of writers, the Rainwriters. We hand out our material to the other 6 members at each meeting. Over the two week period between each meeting, all members make notes on the manuscripts. We do not read things at our meetings, rather we make our comments on each manuscript.

I take my comments home and look at what others have noted. Sometimes they contradict each other, but most often they agree where there is a problem. I go over my chapter and see what can be changed. I feel that it makes my manuscript better.

How do you rewrite?

Like this at Facebook!
8 responses to “rewrite

  1. How much material do you each submit? Is there a page limit? This is very similar to how my novel-group works, although we read one person’s manuscript at a time–either the whole thing or half of it. The discussion that evolves is always incredible, and I come home from each session with new ideas about my own work. The only downside is we meet every six or eight weeks, give or take, depending on when a manuscript is ready, and we’re just ending a several-month hiatus.

    • Thanks for your comment. We don’t set limits, but we do think about the work load. One man turns in two chapters of his novel at a time. We’ve already seen them in his first draft. This is a rewrite. Sometimes it takes me most of a day to get ready for a meeting.
      I agree with you that the discussion is incredible and I learn a lot from each meeting. All of us are writing novels, with an occasional short story thrown in. That helps a lot. I feel guilty if I don’t turn something in every two weeks.
      Ed

      • Thanks for the explanation. It’s so helpful when you’re in a group with fellow novelists, looking at the long form and really developing a story from scene to scene. Having a two-week deadline is a great reason to keep producing new work and charging forward! I’m in a monthly critique group that’s separate from the novel group, and I bring work to read aloud each time we meet. That deadline’s great, but I rarely bring in more than four or five pages due to time constraints.

  2. I don’t do well when things are read out loud at a meeting. I prefer th quiet of my little office in my house. There I can think and ask questions about the piece.

    It looks like you are keeping up the pressure on yourself with your two groups. Keep writing.

    • The two groups work really well together–the monthly one offers that constant deadline, and fellowship, and the novel group gets me thinking about structure and finishing a big chunk of my manuscript. I write every day–whenever I can fit it in with my 3-year-old’s schedule!

  3. Hey Ed!
    Great blog. And great tips. I came across your page via Twitter. You have a lot of great advice to share. And I agree about the need to have others read and comment on your writing. Sometimes I’ll notice a part of my writing that doesn’t flow and other readers will pick up on it. Writing may be solitary, but rewriting should involve other perspectives. Let me know when the next Matsqui weekend is, I should be able to make it this time. 😉
    Cheers!
    Ingrid

Leave a Reply

