Moral writing

All writing has a moral context. Here is a sentence without any moral judgment:
A man was born and then he died
If I say, “A man was born, worked as an electrician and then he died,” I’ve made a judgment of sorts. I think it was important to say that he was an electrician.
We writers are always making such quasi judgments – he was rich, he was poor, he was handsome – whatever. The famous Canadian novelist, Margaret Laurence, said that all writers are moralists. I know I am one. Are you?

Leave a Reply

