Poetry

When I was studying creative writing in the adult education division of Marquette University in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, the professor came to the chapter on poetry. He looked around the room. “Any questions? Any questions? As you know, there’s very little paying market for poetry. No questions, then we’ll go on to our next subject….”

I look back on that and it makes me angry. I’m not a poet, but I think it’s the highest form of writing.

4 responses to “Poetry

  1. Can’t say I can argue too much with that. Other than I find most modern poetry lacking and have given up on trying to find anything. There is no money in it because it so much more subjective than, say, photography. 😉

  2. Pingback: Writing to Right the World at Mount Mary College « Write on the World·

    • Thanks for the link. Mount Mary College? In Milwaukee? In the 70s I represented the East Side on Milwaukee City Council. Then my wife and I operated a greenhouse in New Berlin. Now on to Vancouver, BC. All in a life time.

      I enjoyed your website
      Ed
      http://edgriffin.net/

Leave a Reply

