Active Writing

A big fault of mine is lazy writing. I do okay with avoiding passive verbs, but I need to use strong action verbs. In addition to avoiding to be verbs, I need to replace helping verbs such as have, had, has, do, does, did and other vague verbs like got and get.
Here are some examples from a university:

Before: I had opportunities to develop my skills.
After: I sought opportunities to develop my skills.

Before: I got the promotion through hard work.
After: I earned the promotion through hard work.

Before: She did well in this competitive environment.
After: She thrived in this competitive environment.

Before: My mother didn’t want to show up without a gift.
After: My mother hesitated to show up without a gift.

One response to “Active Writing

Leave a Reply

