Oxymoron

Oxymoron
A figure of speech in which incongruous or contradictory terms appear side by side. Check out the amazing selection from Romeo and Juliet

# “O brawling love! O loving hate! . . .
O heavy lightness! serious vanity!
Misshapen chaos of well-seeming forms!
Feather of lead, bright smoke, cold fire, sick health!
Still-waking sleep, that is not what it is!
This love feel I, that feel no love in this.”
(William Shakespeare, Romeo and Juliet)

“a deafening silence” or “the little giant”

“The quiet was deafening.”

“He was clearly misunderstood.”

“They were alone together.”

My oxymoron________________________________________

5 responses to “Oxymoron

  1. This just proves, once again, what the wisest writing instructor I’ve ever had once said: “These are the rules. Break all the rules.” (I know the phrase wasn’t exactly that, just can’t find my blue text book right now but I’m sure you have a kajillion of them LOL). Thank you for that and thank you for this. Here’s my best example of finding my own oxymoronic voice (which is a work in progress, lol): I used to have a lot of things proofread, doubt myself and alter them to others suggestions. None were published or won anything and I see why now, they were fragmented in tone/voice and oxymoronicisms (new word, LOL), the result of too many voices. Now I submit anyway because the only pieces I have had published or won contests were the very pieces I had no one proofread but myself. That speaks volumes about leaving “oxymorons” or other literary booboos alone if it’s part of the story, keeps the spine of it intact and the gift of story is solid as you illustrate by using one of the most timeless stories of all, then it is both wrong and right and, more importantly, perfect. How’s that for an oxymoron? LOL LOL Thanks for the great posts, Ed, always love visiting your pages 🙂
    Janice

  2. Pingback: COMMENT FROM AURORA: AN OXYMORON IN MOTION « AURORA MOREALIST·

Leave a Reply

