Writing Articles

Article writing85% of what is written is non-fiction. I tell my students that if they want to get published, they should write an article. I have them go down a list and see if they could write an article about one of these subjects: (I give an example)

  • A personal experience              I climbed Mt. Everest         
  • How to                                         How to make bread
  • Technical                                     To adjust your carburetor
  • Inspiration                                   I found religion by…
  • Humor                                         My son came home from school and he…
  • Opinion                                         The government should…
  • Self Improvement                       I learned how to type by…
  • Unusual People                            My Uncle Max is ….
  • Health                                            For exercise I ….
  • History                                           My family came from …
  • Travel                                             I’ve been to …. and …
  • Romantic                                        My husband and I met on …
  • This makes me mad                      The drivers in Vancouver…
  • Religion                                            I returned to God when…
  • Money                                               A good investment is…
  • Shopping                                           An unusual store …
  • Raising children                                We tried it this way …
  • Pets                                                     Our house cat thinks…
  • Canada/USA                                      My country is …
  • Writing                                                 The way to learn how to write is to write…

 Every one of us can write interesting articles about one or many of these subjects. Try it.

A business approach is to research a magazine and then propose an ideaarticle to them. If they like your idea, then write the article.

Images courtesy of:

  • money-health-activity.com
  • mybusinessfirst.com.au
Leave a Reply

