Writing and Cancer

On May 10, 1996 my doctor told me I had prostate cancer.

prostate cancerFor a month I moped around, figuring I was going to die. I felt I was swirling down a big medical sink and I couldn’t pull myself out. I was no longer Ed Griffin, I was a PSA of 19 and a Gleason score of 9. I was in big trouble.

Then I began to write. I wrote down everything that happened to me. I wrote and wrote and then rewrote. I worked harder on typethat manuscript than anything else I had ever done.

I read the manuscript. On paper I had created a guy that could handle cancer, a guy who could talk openly about it. I knew that ‘real men’ didn’t talk about cancer and especially not about sex and cancer. But I did.

To make sure that I would live up to this new me, I sent the manuscript to the local paper. They published it so all my friends would see it.

A year later after surgery and radiation, I wrote another article and sent it to the paper.

If anyone would like to read a compilation of the two articles, email me and I’ll send it to you. (ed@edgriffin.net). It’s a chapter in my new book, Once A Priest.

The point is that writing saved my life. I didn’t give up. I created a new me on paper. That was 15 1/2 years ago.

Images courtesy of:

  •             writechangegrow.com
  •             healthylivestyle.com
4 responses to “Writing and Cancer

Leave a Reply

