I Writer Dream

As my class concluded this fall, I asked my students to turn in a paper that had these three words on it: WRITER & I  & DREAM. The words could be in any form and if they only turned in those three words, they would pass the course. (joke – this is adult education) I’d like to share a few of them.

 Dreaming and writing. Which comes first? They are intertwined, like those rich coloured cords you see holding back the draperies in expensive restaurants. I find I can’t do one without the other. When my inner eye drifts off into that gentle world of dreams, for an hour, a minute, as second, I float high above all the ‘have tos’ and ‘shoulds,’ and I don’t need to keep appointments, work hard, or take out the garbage. I’ve learned though, that when I come back, the first thing to do is write it all down. I’ve also learned not to talk about those moments of inspiration. Other people don’t always treat my dreams with the respect they deserve. But I, the writer, do.                                                                        Mary G.

 I’m sure I’m like other writing teachers. All of a sudden a student ‘gets it.’  It’s like plugging in the lights on the Christmas tree. All I did was plug it in. Or like Christmas Treestarting this amazing computer – all I did was click the switch.

I’d like to share a few more of these as we go on.

 

Images courtesy of:

  • freechristmaswallpapers.net

 

11 responses to “I Writer Dream

Leave a Reply

