Getting Published

NoWhy do we writers use the word “submission” to talk about sending our work to an agent or publisher?  I don’t know about other writers, but I’ve taken a lot of abuse from agents and editors. For example:

  • An agent represented my first novel for six months. She returned it to me saying, “There are too many men to make it a woman’s novel and too many women to make it a men’s novel.
  • A publisher (Hancock House in BC) returned a manuscript to me three years after I sent it to them
  • A Texas literary agent rejected a work of another author and sent it to me.
  • I’ve had publishers say, “Get an agent,” and agents say, “Get a publisher.”
  • Yes, I’ve gotten a few great rejections. I could paper the bathroom mirror with them. The rest of the house would be the other Rejectedrejections.

Many writers today are bypassing this abusive system and selling their work as ebooks or as Print On Demand.

Images courtesy of:

  • goodbusiness.co.nz
  • admit-one.net
5 responses to “Getting Published

  1. Someone, it might have been Hemingway, said you’re not really a writer until you can paper a room in your house with your rejection slips. I’m getting there – though these days, because so many publishers/agents are going e, I’m being cheated of the final countdown 🙂 I suppose I could print out the e rejections, but it’s not the same somehow – besides, my printer’s broken.
    My most recent atrocity was submitting to Cameron Creswell, a very well known agency in Aust’a. They were aksing for e subs: you submitted a partial and if they liked it they called for the rest. They did this with me three times during 2011, and finally rejected me on Christmas Eve eve.

  2. The Digital way of doing is slowly become the fashion of the time and e-books are much more famous now. It’s sad though to see that hard copies would be less available, only because publishers and agents only look for books that can make them gain some big profit…

    • Right you are. Profit is the name of the game in commercial publishing. Printed books will never disappear and I think we writers need to have some available for those that want a book to hold. But Ebooks are the way to go now, as you point out. Thank you.
      Ed
      http://edgriffin.net/

  3. Pingback: Self-Printed: How To Self-Publish With Catherine Ryan Howard | Inkwell Writers’ Workshops | The Independent Publishing Magazine·

Leave a Reply

