Strunk and White

Strunk and WhiteThe Elements of Style by Strunk and White is the most important book for any writing  student. Writing book after writing book, author after author, blog after blog (including me) parrots them. Here are a few of their rules. Sound familiar?

  • Use the active voice.
  • Put statements in a positive form.
  • Avoid imitation. Write in your natural style.parrot
  • Prefer nouns and verbs to adjectives and adverbs.
  • Never use a long word when a short one will do as well.

I hope I quoted these rules accurately. I can’t find my fifth copy of the book. I keep giving it away to students. Amazon.ca advertises the book at $9.36, so I will soon buy my sixth copy.

Before you leave this site, check out the FREE book offer in the previous blog.

Images courtesy of:

7 responses to “Strunk and White

  1. Pingback: Note 323 – Eight writing books as a source of information « My writing challenge·

  2. Pingback: Writing Prose-y | Neuro Vantage·

  3. Pingback: How to Write a Sentence: And How to Read One – Stanley Fish | red rabbit skills services | skills programme development and related services·

Leave a Reply

