Humor

smiling catWriting humor is hard work, but it’s popular. If you sprinkle your writing with humor, readers will enjoy it. An elderly friend of mine told me she laughed out loud several times while reading Once A Priest. (I hope she wasn’t laughing at my writing style)

Here are some suggestions about humor that I like. There are many, many more:

  • Ask WHAT IF:
    •    What if alphabet soup consistently spelled out obscene words?
    •     Pick an object in your room and ask WHAT IF – exaggerate away.
  • The K sound: Words with K in them are funny:  Alka Seltzer, Cleveland, (Maryland is not funny), Chicken. Why is this?  Is it that K sounds were cooed to us as babies?
  • Clichés: Clichés from one activity that can apply to another. (the heart patient refused the transplant saying he’d already had a change of heart.– Carlin)
  • Yogi-Berras:  (“I want to win 100 or 105 games – whichever comes first.”)
  • The Simple Truth: (Call me a taxi.  Okay, you’re a taxi)
  • Alter or Transpose the words: (I’m not as think as you stoned I am.)
  • Realism. I once tried to write for Mad Magazine. I sent idea after idea to them without success. Finally I sent them a piece and asked Mad Magazinethem to tell me why, if they rejected it.

Advice to Ed Griffin from Charlie Kadau of MAD Magazine: We’re returning your piece.  Your situations and examples do not have that certain ring of truth to them which we value so highly.  Most or our humor is that which uses reality as its foundation or starting point and takes off from there.

Images courtesy of:

  • en.wikipedia.org
  • all-creatures.org
10 responses to “Humor

  1. Great Blog, Ed. Makes me want to write something funny. I laughed while reading “Once a Priest” too, so that makes at least two of us. Delora

  2. I’m not sure whether people can be taught how to write humour, Ed, though the ideas are interesting. (Love the cat photo, BTW.) I think humour is more of a stance, a take on life that’s somehow organically coming out of the writer’s personality; I’m not sure it can be put on like a suit of clothes. I’m thinking of people like Ogden Nash, and Geoffrey Willans who wrote DOWN WITH SCHOOL way back in the 1950s.

  3. I really enjoyed Ed’s book Once a Priest, lots of meat in it, lots to read and lots to sink in and think about. I want to read more of your books Ed…..Carolann

Leave a Reply

