Scheherazade

ScheherazadeI love the story of Scheherazade, the storyteller in One Thousand and One Nights. She had to keep the Sultan/King interested in her story or she would lose her head. I think we writers have to feel that way about our readers getting bored with our story/article/poem.

Scheherazade teaches us another trick. She often stopped her story in the middle, so that the king would keep her alive until the next night. This is a great trick for us – stop in the middle of the action and then the next day it’s easy to writer's blockpick it up and keep going. Scheherazade overcomes writer’s block.

6 responses to “Scheherazade

  1. I love this Ed and am pleased that even as a new writer of mystery/suspense, I’ve instinctively been doing this at the end of each of my chapters. My beta readers are telling me that it’s working, in that it keeps them wanting to turn the page. A good thing, I think:>)

  2. More great advice, Ed. Thank you for continuing to inspire us! 🙂

    FYI – I’m in the middle of a story right now, have battling with it for weeks and finally have to finish it tonight. I’m glad I stopped by to check this post out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

