I am a Writer

ebookThis ebook world is new to me. It’s a big learning curve, as big as learning all about agents and editors and what an SASE is. And does it ever soak up time. Especially facebook. Yet I know that social media are the way to succeed in this ebook market. But I have to remind myself that I’m a writer. Maybe I should put it in big letters next to my computer: I am a writer.

One of the experts in social media, Bob Mayer, says this in The Shelfless Book. Over and over he repeats it – the way to succeed is to write good books. He even Bob Mayersays we should hold off on the big sales campaign until we have three books to sell.

So this morning the emails can stack up, the facebook notes can stay where they are – and twitter? I haven’t even learned that yet. Maybe I shouldn’t.

  • I am a Writer
  • I am a Writerwriter
  • I am a Writer
  • I am a Writer

Ed

Images courtesy of:

  • thewritersguidetoepublishing.com
  • eyeofhorusbooks.com
  • thewanderingreader.com
7 responses to “I am a Writer

  1. You’re certainly right about Facebook et al. Sometimes I find that the only writing that I do, is done in “comments” on Facebook, and responses to emails and blugs (like I’m doing right now). I guess it takes more discipline than I seem to have at the moment.

    • I’m getting into social media to give myself a ‘platform’, the new buzz word. I wrote a lot yesterday and then opened my email to find 73 emails. Of course, many of them were facebook notes. the way I have it set up is when somebody makes a comment on facebook that relates to me, I get an email.
      Ed
      http://edgriffin.net/

  2. I think Bob Mayer is right, Ed. If anyone were to launch their novel without having at least another two – or a lot of short stories – to hold the audience they’ve sweated on SoMe to obtain, then they are doomed to writing quickly or risk losing that audience. And writing quickly, while it’s often very good to get that difficult 1st draft out, tends to produce hasty, linear work with little or no imagination. I’d advise anyone feeling impatient, to rein in their impatience and just keep writing until they have a body of work under their belt. Like the tortoise and the hare, in the end in this business, slow is best.

  3. Thank you for sharing this valuable lesson, Ed and don’t worry about joining Twitter where every word is abbreviated and bounces from individual members to groups and back and beyond at harrowing speed. A dizzying display I’d rather not need. Your writing advice blogs make sense and help to keep my writing on track, your words guide me forward until I see my book on a (real-life) library rack. I dream therefore I can.

  4. Thanks for this, Ed. As a yet unpublished novelist, I’m conflicted between the advice of building one’s platform as much as 3 years in advance of publication versus just getting the damned writing done. Probably a balance somewhere in the middle (ie. regular blogging) is the way to go. Looking forward to hearing more on this at the Surrey Writers Conference in October. In the meantime: write on.

Leave a Reply

