Who is Parking on the Grass?

signFor my flash fiction piece, I was inspired by a picture of a sign in a park, and my attention was distracted by the geese and the setting itself. The sign? Didn’t do anything for me. But here is what I came up with:

Another Day in the Park

By Tara Chevrestt

The geese and I had learned to tolerate each other. They ignored me and I geeseignored them. They did their flapping and swimming, and I sat.

I sat in the same spot as I had every day for the last three days, head down, the hot sun nearly giving me heat stroke. I figured someone would notice me here, next to the big sign. People paid attention to signs. Their curiosity got the better of them. What does it say? Can I do this or that? Am I welcome here?

And if they looked at the sign, surely their next reflex would be to look at me next to it. And if they noticed me, maybe someone would help me.

I’d committed a grave error. I had run away from the only person who loved me, a woman who held me every night, laughed at my antics, cried against my neck. I’d left her on some whim I couldn’t even explain and in the process, no doubt alienated her forever. She’d never want me back now.

And here I was, in the park, with nowhere else to go. Because I’d been stupid. Because I had thought the grass would be greener on the other side.

My stomach growled. I couldn’t remember the last time I’d eaten.

Suddenly a child cried out, “Look, Mommy!” A little girl pointed in my direction. “He looks unhappy.”

My chest filled with hope. Finally! But the feeling diminished back into the depths of despair as a much older woman holding the girl’s hand frowned down at her. “Don’t even think of it. Remember the rules.” She then glared at me as though warning me to stay away from her pride and joy.

All right then.

Hunger struck again. The little girl walked a ways away, finally free of her mother’s clutches, and began throwing white pieces of bread at the clamoring and honking geese. They flocked to her, as close as they dared.

Oh, how I wanted some of that bread. My mouth began to water.

Another hunger pain.

When the bread was eaten and the sun began to slide behind the clouds to make room for the incoming darkness, I gave up hope once again. Nobody would see me or help me.

Another day wasted. Doing nothing. Hungry.

Just as I was about to leave what I’d come to consider my post, the sound of an approaching vehicle rent the air. I froze and stared. That looked like…could it be…it was very similar…

And it was.

The vehicle stopped right in front of me. A woman, her face scrunched up from crying, jumped out of the car and rushed toward me, her arms outstretched. “I’ve been looking everywhere for you! Oh! I’ve missed you so much! Never do that again!”

And she crouched down next to me as she sobbed, placing her arms around me and burying her face in my neck.

I was elated, overjoyed, ecstatic…all of the above. In the warmth of her arms, my hunger pains faded away to nothingness—okay, almost nothingness—and I vowed I’d never leave this woman again.

She composed herself enough to lead me to the car, chattering happily. In response, I merely wagged my tail and barked.

***

If you enjoyed this flash fiction piece from the surprise POV of a dog, you may like Dog Tails: Three Humorous Short Stories for Dog Loversdogstail cover http://www.amazon.com/Dog-Tails-Humorous-Stories-ebook/dp/B007BH08ZC/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1339467952&sr=1-1 though that little book of tails is a lot more humorous.

What kind of story would you write based on that photo?

***

Tara Chevrestt is a deaf woman, former aviation mechanic, writer, and an pictureeditor. She is most passionate about planes, motorcycles, dogs, and above all, reading. That led to her love of writing. Between her writing and her editing, which allows her to be home with her little canine kids, she believes she has the greatest job in the world. She is very happily married.

Tara also writes as Sonia Hightower. Sonia writes the racy stuff and argues that she was here first. She just wasn’t allowed to be unleashed until the last year.

While Tara and Sonia continue to fight over the laptop and debate who writes the next book, you can find buy links, blurbs, and other fun bits on their website: http://tarachevrestt.weebly.com/index.html or their Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Tara-Chevrestt-Sonia-Hightower/218383211513877

Image courtesy of:

  • ik.wikipedia.org
6 responses to “Who is Parking on the Grass?

  1. I loved it, Ed. All the way to the end I thought you were a little boy! But then the bit with the little girl would not fit. I just read a book that I loved….until the end. It is so disappointing, when the end disappoints. See you in the fall. Delora

    • That post was part of my blog tour. I’m appearing in many blogs in the USA and some of my colleagues will appear here for the summer.
      Thanks for your comment, Delaora
      Ed

Leave a Reply

