The Blog Tour

butterflyHow does a writer get the word out? I have a friend who wrote a wonderful book about butterflies. Her publisher told her that advertising the book was up to her – the company had no money to send her to conventions or to have her appear at bookstores in large cities.

So she paid for her own author tour, starting in Ireland, where there are some famous sites for finding butterflies. Then a few other European cities and finally as many cities in North America as she could afford. Everywhere she was met with enthusiasm, but sadly – few book sales. She told me privately that, financially, the trip was a disaster – she spent way, way more than she made.

Another way to get the word out is a blog tour. Tasha Turner led me on one this summer. Every week I appeared on another writer’s blog and they appeared on mine.

As Bill Clinton says, “Do the math.” Let’s say every writer has fifty people who visit maththeir site at least once a week. That’s a conservative number, but let’s work with it. Tasha’s tour lasted for fourteen weeks, so that’s 14 x 50 = 700. So seven hundred people saw my name and had some idea what I write about. That’s a way to get the word out. If I’d been sharp, I would have monitored the number of people who visited my web site before and during the blog tour.

And the nice thing is I never left the house and it didn’t cost me anything.

When I started this blog tour, I knew very little about Facebook. I didn’t know how to erase something, I couldn’t even find my way around my own page – a friend set it up for me. Thanks to the leader of the blog Tour – Tasha Turner – and to the leader of the MasterKoda Facebook group – Kim Mutch Emerson, I’ve learned some things.

TwitterAs for Twitter – that’s for the next blog tour.

I also picked up some valuable lessons on how to promote my own work and the work of others, if I’m on a blog tour.

The nice thing about a blog tour is meeting new people and getting to know them. When you have to put someone else’s work up, you begin to know them. When it came time to promote a book of mine, those people were right out front, helping me. For me, this was the greatest feature of the tour.

Having grown up in a Catholic seminary, I’m used to authoritarian types and I don’t like them. Tasha Turner set up the schedule for this tour, led us through it, and taught us as we went – and never an authoritarian word.

Another thing I learned on the blog tour is to ask a question at the end of a blog. So, my readers, please give me your opinion of having a new writer every week.

Images courtesy of:

  • funeralbutterflies.com
  • seps.mgd-colo.peak.org

 

10 responses to “The Blog Tour

  1. A writing friend led me to your Writer’s Write Daily cite. I know I can write, I just want to be good at it. Your articles every week keep me in the loop, reminding me how to get started and what a good writer does. I enjoy reading other writer’s experiences as well. “Thanks for sharing.” Kathy

    • Thanks for your comment, Kathy. Try the 15 minutes a day trick. Just 15 minutes. You write for those 15 minutes, but you do it every day. You will be surprised at what happens. You think about what you wrote often in the day. And sometimes you get going so well that you write for two hours. But promise yourself 15 minutes a day.
      Ed
      http://edgriffin.net/

  2. Ed, I think it’s a great idea for a limited time. BTW, put up your piece on the writing of VETO yesterday, and it has already received quite a few likes and comments. You can see hw it turned out at: danielledevalera.wordpress.com
    (You’ve got to scroll past the first little post with the photo of me, which is permanently stuck at the beginning.)

  3. Great post. You are helping to demystify the whole Facebook, blog, twitter thing for a lot of folks. I like the new writer every week. Looking forward to thenext one.

  4. Pingback: Road to Publication #20: Setting up the Blog Tours | Jennifer M Eaton·

Leave a Reply

