Who Are You?

Who are youI don’t know about you, but the best part of the day for me is when I can write. If it was up to me, I would write all day. I feel a great sense of joy when my mind is fully on my story. I tell the men in prison to use this as a mantra: “When I write, I’m not in prison.”

If I could, I would not spend a minute on marketing. To be honest, I hate marketing, but I know I have to do it. If I were rich, I would hire someone to do it and let me write all day.

Then there’s family. I don’t exist on an island. I have household duties and I don’t really mind doing them, because my family encourages me to write. For some strange reason, I don’t think of going to the store as time away from writing. But, of course, it is.

I just can’t pull a Hemingway – close my door at 6 AM and put a sign on it. Closed Until Noon. I suspect that if I were a very serious writer, that’s what I’d do. But somehow, someway that would destroy who I am.

So I write in drips and drabs, a minute here, a half hour there. I feel Who Am I?philosophy-less. I don’t have the big picture of my writing life.

           How about you? Can you help me figure out who I am as a writer? Who are you?

Images courtesy of:

  • aboutleaders.com
  • 123rf.com
6 responses to “Who Are You?

  1. Ed, I really relate to your feelings about marketing – I haven’t even started yet, my first ebook’s out middle of next year, and it’s giving me the heebie jeebies just thinking about it. I don’t mind the actual work or the interactions – it’s the TIME I know it will take.
    Re writing, when I’m writing the 1st draft of a new book, I use the 1st hour of the day (after I’ve got the cats breakfasted and off to work). Later, after a walk, I edit what I wrote yesterday. Drafts after the 3rd, I print out and edit, usually in bed, usually in the afternoon. I don’t work in any writing capacity at night. Once the sun sets in the west, I roll the stone across the mouth of the cave, light the fire, throw on an antelope – and that’s it.
    Does this answer your question? I’m not sure.

  2. Thank you for asking that question, Ed. I believe that only you can answer who you truly are as a writer and as you’ve done describe the logistics of your writing life, the sacrifices you have to make and the pure joy it brings to you when you can write. Celebrate the success, all you have accomplished as an author and a teacher and keep going in ‘dribs and drabs’ if that works for you. I feel somewhat the same, trying to divide the pie, balance time, energy and places/spaces where and when I can focus on my creativity to surface; sometimes it works, other times it needs a bit of tweaking, re-writing and chiseling of the words until I like what it says/looks/sounds like. Thank you for providing the space to allow me to share my thoughts. Hope all’s well with your life in general and of course, your writing.

    • Thanks Andrea. I assume your life of writing is harder than mine because you have a younger family. And nowadays, when I see your name, I am reminded not to be bitter. I am so impressed by your ability to forgive and forget what the prison system did to you — take away your volunteer status with no rhyme or reason.
      Ed
      http://edgriffin.net/

  3. Interesting how I just emailed you to let you know I will not be in class due to family priorities. And then I check out your blog and guess what … you acknowledge you are not an island …. and how many of us can identify with your comment. I guess as long as we ‘show up on the page’ on a regular basis … we keep moving towards some kind of goal. And who are you and who am I? It sounds like you are a writer at heart even though you can’t spend every moment doing it. For myself, I am not sure right now. But thanks for sharing your struggles in trying to divide the pie. It soothes my soul.

Leave a Reply

