Editing

I wish I were a better editor. I write a story or a novel chapter, then I—-

  •  Go over it three or four times
  •  Show it two different groups
  •  Then over it again and add many of my colleagues suggestions
  •  Then apply a series of filters over my work
  •      The scenes – can people see them?
  •       The dialogue – is it real?
  •       The senses – especially the sense of smell.

That’s about it – and I don’t think it’s enough

  • Does ever word do some work?
  • What am I trying to say?
  • Did I read it out loud, like I tell my students to do?
  • Is there unity of theme, mood, attitude and point of view?
  • Did I use the strongest verbs?
  • Can I replace adverbs and adjective with stronger verbs?

What about you? What’s your editing plan? Your editing advice?

8 responses to “Editing

Leave a Reply

