The World is Better Because I Wrote This Morning

“I’m discouraged,” a friend said, “nobody will ever read my work.”

While I remind people that famous writers once said that, a part of me wants to say, “So what? You’ve made yourself and the world a little better by writing.”

“The world a little better?”A better world

“Yes. Art has entered the world. Even if no one ever reads it, even if it never leaves your tiny office on your second floor, a piece of art has been created.”

“Sounds a bit spacey. But how am I better?”

Perseverance“Because you struggle to write it well. You wrote and rewrote it. You did the best you could. When you were finished, I know you felt a certain satisfaction that you had done something well. You practiced what all writers need – perseverance.”

Do you agree? Do you think the world is better when you wrote something this morning?

Images courtesy of:

5 responses to “The World is Better Because I Wrote This Morning

Leave a Reply

