What scares you?

“If you’re not writing something that scares the hell out of you, it’s not worth doing.”

I can’t remember where I heard that, but it made me think. Am I writing ‘on the edge,’ or am I writing comfortable, easy things?

What scares the hell out of me? Iambic pentameter does as do getting strong verbs and the five senses into scenes. I’m scared of writing dialogue that’s authentic, of showing as opposed to telling, etc. etc. Everything scares me really, everything I teach others about.

Over a year ago I set out to write a novel. That doesn’t scare me. I know I have to stay at it, a little at a time. But this novel involved making eight people come alive. Here’s how it happened. People say to me, “Griffin, you’re opposed to prison, so what’s your answer?” I want this novel to be my answer to that question. It’s the story of a man who has a dream; he wants to set up a prison that really works, that changes people, that rubs the crime out of their souls.

Writing a scene is easy enough but making eight people come alive – that scares the hell out of me.

Delaney’s Hope will be out this year. You can see if I succeeded.

What scares the hell out of you in the writing world?

4 responses to “What scares you?

  1. This is a good point actually. Without even realising it I tend to write within comfort zones – I think I’m going to try and throw myself out of those now!

Leave a Reply

