A Great Age

E-bookI don’t know the statistics about the number of printed books and the number of E-books. All I know is what I see on the train into downtown Vancouver. Two rows in front of me, a woman reads what looks like a Kindle. To my side and one back, a woman reads on her I-pad. At the next stop, a lot of people get on. Two of them are reading something on their E-readers, one hand holding it, the other stabilizing themselves on a pole. A young woman offers her seat to an older woman, and I see that the young woman is reading a paperback.

I’m writing for the E-book market. Three years ago I sent my memoir to the perfect publisher and the perfect agent. I’d done my homework and picked these two from the many. The memoir, Once A Priest, showed that I may have left the Roman Catholic priesthood in 1967, but it still hadn’t left me.

The publisher sent me a terrific response. “We loved it, it’s just what we’re looking for, but, but, but.

The agent said that her reading assistant absolutely loved it, but she herself didn’t like the way I opened the book with the tragic story of a man who didn’t follow his heart.

Result? No thanks.

I swore that day in 2010 that I was finished with agents and commercial publishers. I’m a lot happier now, but I work harder, perfecting my work as best I e-bookcan.

I make sure that I have printed copies of my books available. They are not going the way of the typewriter or the dial phone. Some people will always prefer them. But the tides have turned and a great age is upon us. Now there are no middle men – it’s writer and reader. No agents, editors, marketing experts, distributors, and book sellers. Just writer and reader.

Will there be junk on the market? Of course. Just look at what commercial publishers are doing these days. Hollywood stars who write books for children. (Thank God for the ghostwriters who save the book from complete absurdity.)

I can’t prove it yet, but I think I’m going to earn more money selling E-books, than I am selling printed copies.

I’m writing for the E-book market. And you??

images courtesy of:

photoebookpublishing.com

thepinstripedsuit.com

8 responses to “A Great Age

  1. I wince when I think of books getting published without being professionally edited. And in my opinion that goes for ebooks too. So that’s a “middleman” that I don’t think should be ignored.

  2. NEVER, I will always buy a book from a store, flea market, garage sale, etc, never will I buy that “machine”, to read from. Give me a book anyday, anytime. one with a cover, whose pages I can touch and smell, admire the cover, turn it over and read the back, gentle placing the book mark

  3. Ed, I just finished reading your book, Once a Priest, on my Kindle. Sometimes poor editing is my biggest complaint when reading on an electronic device, but I didn’t have that problem with your book. Good job of editing and great job of writing. I had no idea where your book would take me, but I was delighted when it came around to writing. Yes, I’m another of those writing hopefuls. Back to the subject of e-readers. I have always loved actual books: the feel, the smell, the treat for my eyes. My dream was to have a library, but I was very seldom ready to put out money for the books I wanted. Enter the e-reader. I now have over 800 books on my Kindle, the vast majority having been free, for which my frugal self is very thankful. No, there’s no smell, each one looks and feels about the same as the one I just finished reading, but I now have a library that I can carry with me. Again, kudos to you on a wonderful book. Blessings.

    • Wow, Cindy.Thank you. Your message is one of the rare things we writers get.
      That someone enjoyed the book
      that someone found the editing well done. I put my books through a couple different filters. First is my writing group. second is my daughter, post grad work in English, and then a final read-thru myself.
      Thank you for your comments, Cindy.

Leave a Reply

