Renewal

Many of us, I think most of us, fall in love with our own style of writing. In my case, I’m proud of my short sentences and short paragraphs. And generous heaps of dialogue. So why change? I’m like a business owner who’s producing the right amount of widgets every year. He’s comfortable, no change is needed.

The business owner doesn’t see that new high-powered widgets are about to invade the market. He’s not ready for it. The same is true of comfortable writers like me. I’m in need of renewal.

Where will I get this renewal? Reading a grammar book? No. There’s only one book that can make me a better writer, On Writing Well by William Zinsser. He’ll remind me about simplicity and clutter, and he make me think a lot about unity, unity of idea, of style, point of view, etc. etc.

I’d like to know how other people renew their writing. What do you do?

2 responses to “Renewal

Leave a Reply

