99 cents

One of my most popular books is Once a Priest. It will be on sale this week for 99 cents from Tuesday, July 8 to Friday, July 11. http://www.amazon.com/Once-Priest-Ed-Griffin-ebook/dp/B005H5DSTI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1404663896&sr=8-1&keywords=Once+a+Priest

At the end of last year, Amazon mentions the books it found of special interest in 2013. Once a Priest was one of them.

A summary of the book is:

In 1965 a young priest had a choice to make. Stand by his convictions and participate in a march in Selma, Alabama or tread softly and abide by the orders from his superiors?

Ed Griffin has spent his life on the outside, waging a war against social injustices.
From marching with Dr. King, and losing his parish, to standing up for his beliefs and leaving the priesthood, to spending twenty years as a volunteer writing teacher inside one of the toughest prisons in Western Canada, Griffin has always been a man willing to stand up for what he believes in.
He’s been a priest, a politician, a husband, a father, and a lifelong advocate championing against social injustices.

 In my early writing life, one name stands out as someone who taught me a lot – Elizabeth Lyon. She is a writer, a teacher of writing, and an editor. She specializes in writing books about publishing, books which take scary subjects such as ‘getting published,’ and puts them into language and concepts that the average person can understand

I sent her fifty pages of an early draft of one of my novels. Her fee was reasonable, I paid it and waited for her opinion and suggestions. As usual for this kind of review, I expected a few pages of suggestions. Instead, I received eight single-spaced pages of helpful commentary.

Without me asking her to write a review of Once a Priest, she did. Here it is:

More often than not, I’m unsatisfied by the memoirs I read, mostly because so many have pretense that puts a distance between the reader and the story, leaving me to wonder what the real, unvarnished truth is.

Ed Griffin’s memoir set me at ease. As I began to read I thought, “Now this is how a memoir should be written,” honestly, with a balance of story and reflection. Later I fervently wished that all of my friends would write a memoir like Ed Griffin has–so that I could know what their journey of life has been. Even though I began life with beliefs far different from the Catholic Church, I was caught up in the quiet drama of a young man’s dedication and idealism for the Catholic faith, and his willingness to pursue the path to priesthood that his mother so fervently wanted for him.

And then, I am rooting for the author in his search for justice, fairness, freedom, and being true to his heart. The risk to do so, and leave the priesthood, required the courage of conviction and the homing device of compassion. His story is everyone’s story but for the fact that not everyone can clear the rubble of others’ expectations. In this way, Ed Griffin’s memoir lights a path of wisdom. Humble, at times self-effacing, yet proud in the best of all senses of the word, Ed would never, I suspect, want others to see him as a hero. But he is. I recommend this book to everyone.

 The book trailer for Once a Priest is: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=92U5MlUCKtE

Don’t forget. Once a Priest for 99 cents, from July 8 to July 11. http://www.amazon.com/Once-Priest-Ed-Griffin-ebook/dp/B005H5DSTI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1404663896&sr=8-1&keywords=Once+a+Priest

One response to “99 cents

Leave a Reply

